Skip to main content

Home | kent police museum

Kent Police Museum

Celebrating the history behind Kent Police

The Kent Police Museum is currently under redevelopment.

In September 2015 we relocated from Chatham Historic Dockyard to temporary accommodation at Kent Police Headquarters in Maidstone. We are currently progressing a move to a new, permanent location within the Kent Police estate. We are also in the process of appointing a new curator who is due to start later this year.

Our vision for the future is to deliver a modern, interactive museum that captures the social history of policing in Kent. We want to bring to life the policing past and present for current and future generations in a way that entertains, educates and inspires.

Making contact

If you are interested in loaning any artefacts from the museum’s collection, would like to collaborate on a touring exhibition, or are interested in volunteering for the museum next year, please contact Maria Porter by email: Alternatively, call 01622 652158.


Please note: until the new curator is in post, we are unable to undertake any research into our archives.

Until we have a new website and new premises, we will continue to provide information on our history in this section of the Kent Police website.



Kent's first Chief Constable, John Ruxton

Kent County Constabulary was formed on 14 January 1857 with 222 officers and men under Chief Constable John Henry Hay Ruxton. A former army man in charge of convict ships to the new world, he rented the first police headquarters in Stone Street, Maidstone.

At the time there were police forces within Canterbury, Deal, Dover, Faversham, Folkestone, Gravesend, Hythe, Maidstone, Rochester, Ramsgate, Sandwich, Tenterden and Tunbridge Wells.

The borough forces of Deal, Hythe, Faversham, Sandwich and Tenterden were merged with Kent County Constabulary in 1889, leaving just nine autonomous forces which amalgamated in 1943.

Kent Police, as it is known today, is now served by three divisions which align with the 12 council boundaries and Medway Unitary Authority.



Kent's first Chief Constable, John Ruxton



Officers at Faversham Station in 1899

Officers at Faversham Station in 1899