During this phase, you will have the opportunity to undertake more advanced learning in core policing principles in one or more of the five core areas of policing practice:

  1. response policing
  2. policing communities
  3. policing the roads
  4. information and intelligence
  5. conducting investigations

Once learning has been successfully achieved in one of the core area(s), you will progress to demonstrate full independent competence in that area, by undergoing further work-based assessment.

On successful completion of all associated work-based assessment, you will become a Qualified Special Constable (QSC) in the core area(s) of policing practice chosen.

You must complete all the learning and receive a successful assessment in all five core areas of policing practice.